clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NY Represents in 2010 CFDA Noms

Racked is no longer publishing. Thank you to everyone who read our work over the years. The archives will remain available here; for new stories, head over to, where our staff is covering consumer culture for The Goods by Vox. You can also see what we’re up to by signing up here.

The 2010 CFDA Nominations were announced last night and as no surprise, New York designers make a huge showing amongst the honorees. The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year are Donna Karan (2004 Lifetime Achievement winner), fashion darling Alexander Wang and, of course Marc Jacobs. Representing Menswear, nominees are David Neville and Marcus Wainwright of Rag & Bone, Tom Ford and Michael Bastian. Recognizing industry newcomers with the Swarovski Award, the CFDA nominates Jason Wu, Prabal Gurung and Joseph Altuzarra and Jason Wu for womenswear and Simon Spurr, Patrik Ervell and Richard Chai for menswear. The 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to fashion icon and Project Runway judge, Michael Kors and the CFDA Board of Directors’ Special Tribute Award will be awarded to the late Alexander McQueen. The Oscars of the fashion industry takes place on June 7th at Alice Tully Hall, giving Lincoln Center a test run before Fashion Week hits in September. []

Marc Jacobs Collection

385 Bleecker Street, New York, NY 10012 212 343 1490 Visit Website

Rag & Bone

160 Court St, Brooklyn, NY 718-522-6758 Visit Website

Alexander Wang

103 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013 212-977-9683 Visit Website